The Storms of Life

     After preaching and ministering to a large crowd, in Mark chapter 4, Jesus must have been exhausted when He told his disciples to pull up anchor and set sail for the other side of the Sea of Galilee. They were to head to the other side which was the country of the Gerasenes, a gentile country which is evident by the fact that they raised pigs. The beautiful thing about this trip across the sea is that it shows both Jesus’s humanity and divinity.  After being surrounded by crowds who were looking for miracles and seeking Jesus’s full attention, He probably wanted to get away and rest. Jesus must have been so tired because He feel asleep on a boat. When I was in the Philippines on a mission trip, I went on a ferry ride from one island to another.  I would have had to been completely exhausted to fall asleep on it. It is good to know that I have a God who knows what it is like to work hard and then be exhausted. Then a storm arose rather quickly and the disciples started freaking out. This always perplexed me because I thought as fishermen they would have been pretty confident out on the water. After some research I found that storms can be very fierce and sudden on the Sea of Galilee. The disciples probably fished close to the shore and may have never sailed across the sea to the other side.  Frightened, they woke up Jesus. To them it seemed crazy that Jesus could be sleeping through the storm. Yet here Jesus was passed out on a pillow in the stern of the boat. Jesus woke up and calmed the storm. He then asked the disciples why they were so afraid and had no faith. The disciples were afraid but had forgot one major thing.  Jesus had told them to go to the other side of the lake. Jesus had called them somewhere and they should have trusted that Jesus would get them there. I am a lot like the disciples. I often forget that if Jesus calls me somewhere He will go with me and get me there. I too like the disciples find myself staring at the storms and wondering how I will survive. It is comforting to know that Jesus is the master of the storms. It is comforting to know that if we obey Jesus, he will get us to the other side. Storms may arise suddenly and violently but if God is for me then who can be against me.

One thought on “The Storms of Life

  1. Pingback: The Anchor | Jesus Christ Is Come In The Flesh Ministries

Leave a Reply

