Put Me In Coach

                     As I spent time reading through Mark today I landed on two passages. The first one was the parable of the sower and the various types of soil. Something I noticed is that Jesus took the time with the ones He loved to show them the meaning of the parable. I felt convicted at this time. I want to be the soil that is usable, in particular with spiritual disciplines. Many times I am more like the rocky soil that receives the call to spiritual discipline with much joy but does not stick it out for the long haul. I am praying that through my spiritual disciplines class that I will begin a lifelong habit of spiritual discipline. I also felt convicted today for all the time I waste and have wasted in my life. This got me thinking about past sins and I really felt agony for all the evil that I have done in my life. Sometimes I wonder how I could ever be forgiven. I wonder how could I ever be used by God. My only defense is grace. It is all I have. I can not stand on my own merit. Grace is the cry of my soul. I am guilty and yet at my judgment the only thing I can plead for is grace. Just a chapter earlier in Mark, Jesus is accused of casting out demons because He is of the devil. Jesus refutes that with a great comment about a house divided. But it is the next verse that I am thankful for today. Jesus said, “I assure you that people will be forgiven of all sins….” I am so thankful that my sins are forgiven. I can be rest in assurance that I did nothing to deserve grace and therefor have done nothing to lose it. I am humbled by this. I also celebrate because of it. Satan continues to attack me with his attempts to guilt me onto the sidelines of life. And Satan is right, the sidelines is where I deserve to be, but God in His mercy has given me the game ball and put me in the game.
Leave a Reply

